The Host (2013)

Director: Andrew Niccol

Starring: Saoirse Ronan, Max Irons, Jake Abel, Diane Kruger, Chandler Canterbury

I basically walked into The Host with low expectations and not expecting much. Well, I’m glad I did because this film was really nothing to write home about. I haven’t read the novel (or plan to read anything else by Stephenie Meyer) but I did see the first Twilight movie, and all I can say is, if you are fan of that movie then The Host might just suit your fancy. I can’t be too harsh about it; it was what it was, really. And that is a movie with a simple story line that doesn’t make you think too much, a weird love triangle, and plenty of cheesy one-liners.

The Host shows us a world that has been inhabited by white, floaty aliens who live by taking over a human’s body (the host). These aliens strive to perfect the world of which they have inhabited. Most of the human race has been taken over, and therefore, created a world where lying, stealing, killing, or anything else that works against the well-being of others, does not exist. Of course there are a few human survivors (the resistance) who work to, well, stay human. Melanie (Saoirse Ronan) was part of the resistance but gets caught by the aliens and becomes host to one. However, Melanie doesn’t give up easy and she and the soul that she hosts work together to find her loved ones, showing that these two species can actually work together, and of course, that love conquers all.

Maybe I needed to read the novel to have some background information in order to actually appreciate the story, but to me, the story was one dimensional and kind of plain weird in some parts. It was simple and bland and made to not strain your brain too much, or really at all. In fact, a lot of it I found just downright unrealistic, but hey, the whole movie is unrealistic. `        I don’t want to spoil any specific parts but I just felt like there were a lot of holes that perhaps the novel might have explained, but the writing in this movie did not. Speaking of writing, I can’t say it was completely awful but some parts were really just too outrageous and my girlfriend and I found ourselves actually groaning out loud at the corniness. The acting wasn’t terrible, they did their job with what they were given script-wise, which pretty much left little to the imagination and really the actors’ jobs were to just recite the lines.

All in all, this film was exactly what I expected it to be, which isn’t saying much. If you are fan of the Twilight series or Stephenie Meyer’s writing than I’m sure it will please you more than it did I. However, I found the plot too flat and the writing too blunt to impress me at all.

Rating: C-

Leave a Reply

