Reflection// Stanley Kubrick

1 Oscar. 13 Academy Award Nominations. 16 films.

So it took me about a month a half to get through the seven Kubrick films that I wanted to see. It was definitely a lot of Kubrick to see and I didn’t want to rush through them without taking the time to actually take them in. Kubrick put his whole life into these films, and was known for being a very, very meticulous director so I felt like I should take my time in watching each one. That, and the fact that Kubrick always gives you something to think about by the time the credits role that you really need to let the movie settle in your brain before moving on to the next one.

I decided for each bucket list that I finish that I will rank the films from my most liked to least liked. If you missed any of my reviews on a movie, you can click through to go to that article.

Ranking Kubrick:

  1. 2001: A Space Odyssey
  2. Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb
  3. A Clockwork Orange
  4. Full Metal Jacket
  5. Barry Lyndon
  6. Eyes Wide Shut
  7. Paths of Glory

Keep in mind that I really enjoyed all of the Kubrick films so making this list was a very hard task and by no means did I dislike any of the movies on this list.

Director Trademarks:


Extreme Close Ups

Bathroom Scenes

I’m very glad I chose Kubrick for my May/June bucket list. He was such an influential director to many current directors and certainly left his mark on the movie world. He only did about 16 films, but most of those films are considered classics and masterpieces. Not only that, he was a master in filmmaking of any genre really. War films, horror films, adventure films, sci-fi films, etc. He did them all and did them brilliantly.

What do you guys’ think? What is your favorite Kubrick film? How would you rank his filmography? Feel free to post your thoughts below!

One thought on “Reflection// Stanley Kubrick

  1. It’s actually a excellent along with helpful part of information. I am just content that you just embraced this convenient details here. Be sure to keep united states up to par similar to this. Appreciation for spreading.

Leave a Reply

