Reflection// David Fincher

Director & Producer. 2 Oscar Nominations. 13 Films.
A Monthly Wrap-Up of David Fincher

Ranking Fincher:

  1. Fight Club
  2. The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo
  3. The Social Network
  4. Zodiac
  5. Se7en
  6. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
  7. The Game
  8. Panic Room

Average Rating: 4.1 out of 5

Although I like to focus on films that I haven’t seen before in my Bucket List feature, I decided to include the movies that I didn’t review in my ranking of David Fincher films as well. Maybe one day I’ll get around to reviewing those also but I just wanted to have an accurate list of my favorite movies from the director as a whole.

“As a director, film is about how you dole out the information so that the audience stays with you when they’re supposed to stay with you, behind you when they’re supposed to stay behind you, and ahead of you when they’re supposed to stay ahead of you.”-David Fincher

Favorite Fincher Trademarks:

Low key lighting

Brad Pitt

Opening Credits

upcoming fincher:

With his last film, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, released in 2011, we are definitely feeling due for another Fincher project. However, it doesn’t look like he really has any movies lined up for the near future. The only thing I could come up with is the fact that he is currently executive producer for the Netflix TV show, House of Cards, which stars Kevin Spacey. I’ve been meaning to get around to watching it and hopefully I’ll be able to soon. Hopefully we will see some more of the great David Fincher soon though!

Overall opinion:

I’m glad I took a couple of weeks to catch up on some these movies that I have really been meaning to see, with The Social Network probably being the one I was most anticipating. It was really interesting to go straight from watching Stanley Kubrick movies to Fincher because you could see the little things that the latter was influenced by. It was fun to see those little Kubrick-isms in these films mixed with that darkened and modernized touch that Fincher has. David Fincher is definitely up there as one of my favorite directors that are active today and I can’t wait to see more of him!

What do you guys think? What’s your favorite Fincher film or favorite thing about the director? Feel free to comment below!

Leave a Reply

