Film Muse’s Top 10 Moments of the Oscars 2014

Last night the Oscars proved to be very entertaining and a good night for many people. I can’t say any of the Academy’s choices threw me off (I got 13 out of my 15 predictions correct). But I was glad that there seemed to be a semi-equal spread of movies getting the awards, despite Gravity being the obvious leader in wins with 7 Oscars by the end of the night. 12 Years A Slave was the one to take home the big one as Best Picture and deservedly so. It was between them and Gravity but I’m glad the Academy went with Solomon Northup’s incredible biopic. There weren’t really any surprises with the actor’s categories with Jared Leto, Lupita Nyong’o, Cate Blanchett, and Matthew McConaughey all taking home their own golden statues. A lot of people are upset that Leonardo DiCaprio didn’t get the Best Actor award, therefore keeping the ongoing joke of “Always a bridesmaid, never a bride” going.  But honestly, McConaughey’s performance was the most solid and deserving out of the rest of the nominees. Heck, he’s deserving of it just out of the pure fact that he was able to completely turn his career around and become one of the best actors in the industry today (coined by many as the “McConaissance”).

Frozen, as everybody predicted, took home the award for Best Animated Feature along with Best Original Song for “Let It Go”, which I don’t think anybody is upset about. I have to say I’m also glad that Alfonso Cuaron was the one to take away Best Director. If it weren’t for Cuaron’s amazing devotion to his project, Gravity could have easily been a flop. His expert directing turned it into one of the most amazing on-screen experiences of the year. John Ridley nabbed the award for Best Adapted Screenplay for 12 Years A Slave and Spike Jonze rightfully got Best Original Screenplay for Her. I was really happy that Her was able to take away at least one award this year. As my personal favorite film of the year, I knew it didn’t have a chance in the Best Picture category but Spike’s screenplay was simply beautiful and well deserving of the Oscar.

All in all, I’m pretty happy about the outcome of last night’s ceremony. With all of the awards hype over, we can all finally focus on what this year has to offer us in the way of film. Take a moment to check out my Top 10 favorite moments of this year’s Oscars below.

10. Spike Jonze Winning “Best Original Screenplay”

spike jonze

As you might know by now, Her absolutely blew me away and Spike’s screenplay is one of the most profound and fantastically written stories I have come across. I’m glad he was the one to nab the Oscar last night even if Her still lost out on Best Picture, Best Original Score, and Best Original Song.

9. Idina Menzel performing “Let it Go”

idina

Or should I say “Adele Dazeem”?? She is amazing. That is all. Her performance was a little shaky and you could that she was visibly nervous (partly because they sped up the song and cut some verses for the sake of time. Oh, and also John Travolta completely butchered her name.), but she still totally rocked the house.

8. Ellen handing out pizza

pizza

Is there really anything else to say about this amazing moment that will be forever remembered in Oscar history?

7. Jennifer Lawrence

jennifer lawrence

Because she is amazing and I love her.

6. Lupita Nyong’o dancing with Pharrell

Oh, and also when she won Best Supporting Actress. I ain’t even mad that she beat out J-Law for the title. She was amazing in 12 Years A Slave and I’m only excited to see more of her in the future!

5. When Ellen broke Twitter by taking the most epic selfie ever.

4. Cate Blanchett winning Best Actress

Cate

I’ll just let part of Cate’s acceptance speech speak for itself: “And perhaps, those of us in the industry who are still foolishly clinging to the idea that female films, with women at the center are niche experience, they are not. Audiences want to see them and, in fact, they earn money. The world is round, people.”

3. Jared Leto winning Best Supporting Actor

jared leto

For me, there was no question about who was going to win this award. Jared’s touching performance as Rayon in Dallas Buyers Club was truly worthy of an Oscar. Not to mention his amazing speech. I just hope he doesn’t disappear from the movie biz again any time soon!

2. Ellen dressed as Glenda

Ellen

Can she please just host every year??

1. Steve McQueen’s victory jumps

steve mcqueen

I was glad that 12 Years a Slave took home the big one, although it wasn’t my personal #1 favorite of the year. It was a great film and I’m glad that it’s gotten all of the attention its had. Steve McQueen nervously rattled off a list of people he wanted to thank before turning around and celebrating his victory by jumping around and hugging and kissing anybody he could. It just shows this was a project he was truly passionate about and I think I can say that we are all really happy for him!

What was your favorite moment of Oscars night??

Leave a Reply

