5 Most Anticipated Movies of Fall 2014

Top5FallMovies

I can’t believe it’s already here but it looks like “the season of good movies” is upon us! With Gone Girl released last weekend and Brad Pitt’s Fury coming out next weekend (Yeah, I’m not totally sold on this weekend’s Dracula Untold or The Judge), it’s finally time for the good stuff to come out! Especially since the summer movie season seemed a little bit…well, lackluster, I am absolutely dying to absorb all the great films that are coming out in the next few months. Here is my top 5 list for the movies that I am most anticipating as of right now. Gone Girl was actually probably in my top 3 but that already came out, obviously. I just thought I would state that fact for the record. So, without further ado…here are my 5 most anticipated movies of Fall 2014!

#5. The Imitation Game

imitationgame

So, I first heard about this movie when flipping through my Empire magazine from a couple months ago. I had no idea what the movie was about up until then and had never heard of the mathematician Alan Turing. He was a prominent figure of World War II and cracked Nazi codes, helping the Allies win the war. Despite his accomplishments, he was eventually criminally prosecuted for homosexuality which led to an ultimately tragic life until his death. This looks like it could be a seriously awesome biopic. I love me a good thriller, and what is more thrilling than cracking Nazi codes? I do hope they incorporate what happened to Turing in his later years of life in the movie, though, as I think it’s really important to acknowledge in this day and age the huge injustices done to anybody in the past who was considered homosexual, especially when it was someone who had impacted history in such a prominent way. Anyways, Benedict Cumberbatch looks amazing in this. So does Keira Knightley. The movie is directed by Morten Tyldum who I haven’t heard anything about, but this one looks like it has the potential to be one of the top movies of the year.

#4. Interstellar

interstellar

I mean, who isn’t excited for this movie? It is the long awaited return of Christopher Nolan and it looks pretty damn good. I love that Matthew McConaughey is cast in the lead role since last year proved that he is a seriously good actor. This looks like the type of movie to really showcase that and even show us a side of him that we haven’t really seen before (Are there in sci-fi McConaughey movies? I don’t know). The rest of the cast looks awesome too with Anne Hathaway and Jessica Chastain also looking like they have pretty big roles. The thing that really draws me to this movie though is that it doesn’t look like your typical end-of-the-world-space-movie-thing. At least from the trailers, it looks like Nolan isn’t relying on spectacle to “wow” us, but emotions and the human element to his story. It’s Nolan. It’s awesome. Can’t wait.

#3. Foxcatcher

foxcatcher

Ummm, did you guys SEE the trailer for this movie?? INTENSE. This movie is based on the true story of the Schultz brother and wrestling coach John Du Pont, whose relationship ultimately led to deadly consequences. Based on a true story, guys. Like….what? I’m not into wrestling so I had no idea but this movie looks good. The story, although intense, is not the only thing drawing me in. The movie is directed by Bennett Miller whose other works include Capote and Moneyball. The guy can direct. Channing Tatum, I don’t care what you say about him, he’s earned my respect as an actor and I’m excited to see him in this dramatic role. Mark Ruffalo plays the other Schultz brother and he’s never disappointed me. Steve Carrell is also playing a more dramatic role, but I’ve seen him do drama well and am also excited to see him take on this extremely challenging and different role. I just need to get past the damn prosthetic nose…

#2. Nightcrawler

K72A3451d.tif

My number two is probably less known by the mainstream film fans and honestly, this wasn’t on my radar until not too long ago. It’s my number two most anticipated for a reason though, because: This. Movie. Looks. Crazy. Jake Gyllenhaal is one of my favorite male actors working in the business today. The guy is all sorts of talented and extremely versatile. He has proven himself to be an extremely matured actor (a long ways from Bubble Boy) with last year’s Prisoners and this year’s Enemy. Enemy is actually probably one of my favorite movies of 2014 as of right now. It’s not for everybody, but I still think about that movie on a regular basis and just how much it’s last scene messed me up. For this movie he took on a pretty extreme physical transformation and, I hear, he plays a pretty insane dude. I haven’t read much about the plot of the movie, although I know the basic premise, because I hear this is the type of movie that you might be better going in knowing not much about. Dan Gilroy is the writer and director of the movie and this is actually his directorial debut so I really don’t know what to expect from him. This is the one that is next on my radar since it is released at the end of this month, October 31st.

#1. The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 1

mockingjay

Okay, okay, okay, I know this probably isn’t Oscar worthy or anything of that sort. But I would be lying if I said I wasn’t truly, intensely, seriously nerdy about this movie coming out. Last year’s Catching Fire seriously impressed me and left us on a huge cliffhanger. It’s time for all hell to break loose now as Katniss and Co. have finally had enough of the Capitol’s sh*t and I AM SO EXCITED TO WATCH IT ALL. They are doing a great job with these movies and it’s a huge relief to see such a good YA series be taken seriously by its filmmakers. Mockingjay, Part 1 and are both directed by Francis Lawrence, who took over for Gary Ross when he took on Catching Fire. I loved his direction with last year’s installment and think he is the right man to take on the remaining two. Also, I could go on and on about how much I love Katniss as a leading character and Jennifer Lawrence and how it’s good for females to be the lead in movies since females make up 52% of the population but only 29.2% of distinct character roles, etc., etc. Or you could just read this great article by the New York Time’s film critic A.O. Scott on female representation in movies this year.


 

So, that is it for my top 5 most anticipated movies that are coming up later this year! There are a few that didn’t make the cut that I am still super excited for, such as: Jean Marc Vallee and Reese Witherspoon’s Wild, Brad Pitt and David Ayer’s Fury, and James Marsh and Eddie Redmayne’s The Theory of Everything. 

Let me know what you guys are excited for in these upcoming months and your predictions for movies that will potentially be big during awards season!

Leave a Reply

